Silverplate is Great!

mvc-008s1   

I love antique silverplate.  I have people look at my serving pieces sometimes and ask “is this sterling?” and I say “no, silverplate.”    “Oh” comes out of their mouth as they put it back down on the table in disgust.  Sterling is wonderful, but can be very expensive.  You can enjoy some of the same pieces in silverplate for a fraction of the cost.  Barker Ellis of England  silverplate pieces for example, are highly coveted with elaborate  design and  heavy silverplate coating: they could pass for sterling.  STOP SNUBBING THE ‘PLATE’ AND EMBRACE IT!  I would love to serve my summer gazpacho in an antique sterling soup tureen but I don’t have  several thousand dollars to buy one.  So I found a wonderful old English silverplate tureen for a fraction of the cost and I get the same fabulous effect.  And it  does have value!  An heirloom to pass down to your children or a return on your investment when you decide to sell it.

2 thoughts on “Silverplate is Great!

    • Thank you for checking out my blog. Good luck to you in all your future endeavors!
      I love antiquing! It is the thrill of the hunt that keeps me going! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

